All I Ever Wanted Was the World

 

I feel like I have many makeup muses. Some days I want clean, glowy looks like Blake Lively. Some days I’m feeling darker, like Taylor Momsen. Some days I’m all about the colors, like Halsey. Some days I want to look vaguely threatening, like Melanie Martinez.

Overall, though, I’d say I’m most inspired by Marina Diamandis, or Marina and the Diamonds. Her look changes with every album and I love that. Her Electra Heart era was my favorite, with the platinum wig and bottom lid falsies coupled with baby pink or oxblood lips.

Image courtesy of staypop

It was actually around the time that Electra Heart came out that I started really getting into makeup. Primmadonna kind of spoke to me, telling me that I could stop trying to be the ‘cool girl,’ and allow myself to be the high-maintenance, made-up diva I am without apology.

Maybe that’s the reason why I try to get a little Electra Heart into my makeup, even at work. Maybe I can’t wear a drawn-on heart on my cheek, but I can throw on some falsies. And maybe bright, babydoll pink cheeks are a bit much for the office, but that same color as a lipstick instead is perfect.

I’m not necessarily trying to emulate Marina/Electra Heart. I’m just trying to incorporate some of that don’t-give-a-fuck-what-you-think attitude into my daily life. I’ve got better things to do than worry about whether or not someone thinks I’m wearing too much makeup. I wish I had gone through my whole life with this attitude, but nevertheless I’m there now and it feels great.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to make sure you never miss out on a look!

Song performed by Marina and the Diamonds.

Disclaimer: this is a personal blog written and edited by myself, and all opinions or thoughts expressed in this blog are solely my own. My intention is to do no harm. I am not associated with nor am I being paid by any cosmetic company. All content is my own unless otherwise stated. © Cashmere Cat Hair 2016, all rights reserved. See my full disclaimer.

Comment

