We’re All Mad Here

Well.

It’s been a minute, hasn’t it?

It’s been a solid 5 months since I last posted. There’s a reason for that, which I will be posting about in due time, but for now I’m just here to say hey!

Last night I went to a Halloween party. This is the first social outing I’ve gone to in well over a year and a half. I have terrible anxiety issues and tend to spend most of my time at home, perusing Reddit and furiously Pinning outfits I’ll never wear. I only stayed for 3 hours, but that was a huge accomplishment for me, considering this is what a normal Saturday night looks like:

One thing I’ve never talked about on this blog is my struggle with anxiety and panic, and I feel that’s something we should all be more open about. However far we’ve come in understanding mental illness, there’s still a huge lack of comprehension about the workings of different disorders and I think that could, at least in part, be remedied by having open, on-going discussions about mental health.

So, from here on out, I will be including such discussion in my posts. This is, after all, a life blog, and my mental illness is part of my day-to-day life. I don’t expect my blog to change the way the world talks about mental illness, and I am by no means an expert on anyone or anything but myself — but if we can have this conversation, I think we’ll all benefit.

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”
-Lewis Carroll

I’ll be back in a few days with a new post. A few days could mean 3, or it could mean 10, and I’m not going to pretend that I’ve ever been a consistent blogger. So I’ll see you when I see you, but know that I want it to be sooner rather than later.

Down the rabbit-hole.

Comment

